Home » Reading » Three Poets on Swink Magazine

Three Poets on Swink Magazine

I think I love how online magazine Swink calls itself “a tiny light in the gloaming of literary obscurity” because I feel I could easily apply that same description to myself. Anyway, not too many poets up yet, but here are three I like a lot, with sample lines that delighted me:

  • two poems by Timothy Liu (sample opening lines: “I know your mouth better / than your husband ever will.”)
  • three poems by Melissa Broder (sample opening lines to “Dear Billy Collins”: “If I don’t stop using / the word fingerbang / I’ll never get to be // poet laureate.”)
  • two poems by Sandra Beasley (sample lines: “I type ninety-one words a minute, all of them / Help. Yes, I speak Dewey Decimal.”)
Leave a Reply

